U.S. Presidential letters

U.S. Presidential letters

Descriptive Summary

Repository: Hargrett Manuscripts
Creator: United States. President.
Title: U.S. Presidential letters
Dates: 1780-1972
Quantity: 0.25 Linear feet (see vault)
Abstract:The collection consists of the signatures of twenty-seven presidents of the United States. The signatures have been pulled over time from various collections, purchases and gifts in the Hargrett Library and placed together in one collection. There are letters, autographs and signatures from John Quincy Adams, Buchanan, Coolidge, Fillmore, Garfield, Grant, Harding, Hoover, Jackson, Jefferson, Andrew Johnson, Lyndon B. Johnson, Lincoln, Madison, Monroe, Nixon, Pierce, Polk, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Theodore Roosevelt, Taft, Taylor, Truman, Tyler, Van Buren, Wilson, and Washington. Correspondence from others include letters from Eleanor Roosevelt, Edith Kermit Roosevelt, and Telamon Cuyler.
Coll. Number: ms956

Biographical/Historical Note

The President of the United States is the chief executive office of the United States. In contrast to many countries with parliamentary forms of government, where the office of president, or head of state, is mainly ceremonial, in the United States the president is vested with great authority and is arguably the most powerful elected official in the world. The nation's founders originally intended the presidency to be a narrowly restricted institution. They distrusted executive authority because their experience with colonial governors had taught them that executive power was inimical to liberty, because they felt betrayed by the actions of George III, the king of Great Britain and Ireland, and because they considered a strong executive incompatible with the republicanism embraced in the Declaration of Independence (1776). Accordingly, their revolutionary state constitutions provided for only nominal executive branches, and the Articles of Confederation (1781-89), the first "national" constitution, established no executive branch. Encyclopedia Britannica http://www.britannica.com (Retrieved December 14, 2009)


Arranged in alphabetical order.

Index Terms

Adams, John, 1735-1826 -- Autographs
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 -- Autographs
Coolidge, Calvin, 1872-1933 -- Autographs
Cuyler, Telamon Cruger Smith, 1873-1951 -- Correspondence
Fillmore, Millard, 1800-1874 -- Autographs
Garfield, James A., (James Abram), 1831-1881 -- Autographs
Grant, Ulysses S., (Ulysses Simpson), 1822-1885 -- Autographs
Harding, Warren G., (Warren Gamaliel), 1865-1923 -- Autographs
Hoover, Herbert, 1874-1964 -- Autographs
Jackson, Andrew, 1767-1845 -- Autographs
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 -- Autographs
Johnson, Andrew, 1808-1875 -- Autographs
Johnson, Lyndon B., (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Autographs
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- Autographs
Madison, James, 1751-1836 -- Autographs
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 -- Autographs
Nixon, Richard M., (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Autographs
Pierce, Franklin, 1804-1869 -- Autographs
Polk, James K., (James Knox), 1795-1849 -- Autographs
Presidents--United States--Autographs.
Roosevelt, Edith Kermit Carow, 1861-1948 -- Correspondence
Roosevelt, Eleanor, 1884-1962 -- Correspondence
Roosevelt, Franklin D., (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945 -- Autographs
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919 -- Autographs
Signatures (names)
Taft, William H., (William Howard), 1857-1930 -- Autographs
Taylor, Zachary, 1784-1850 -- Autographs
Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972 -- Autographs
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 -- Autographs
Van Buren, Martin, 1782-1862 -- Autographs
Washington, George, 1732-1799 -- Autographs
Wilson, Woodrow, 1856-1924 -- Autographs

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

U. S. presidential letters. MS 956. Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.

Series Descriptions and Folder Listing