George Foster Peabody Awards records

George Foster Peabody Awards records

Descriptive Summary

Repository: Hargrett Manuscripts
Creator: Henry W. Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication.
Title: George Foster Peabody Awards records
Dates: 1940-2011
Quantity: 1300.0 Linear feet (881 cartons, 17 document boxes, 170 oversized boxes, 10 extra large crates)
Coll. Number: ms3000

Biographical/Historical Note

"Among prizes for electronic media – radio awards, television awards, interactive and new media awards – THE GEORGE FOSTER PEABODY AWARDS are considered the most prestigious. Founded in 1940, the Peabody is the also the oldest electronic media award in the world, recognizing excellence, distinguished achievement, and meritorious public service. The first radio awards were presented in 1941, for work completed in 1940. The first television awards were presented in 1948, the first cable television awards in 1981, and the first web site awards in 2003. Honoring content from large broadcast networks to tiny online outlets, from popular entertainment programs to independently produced documentaries, and all types in between, the Peabody Awards seek out “excellence on its own terms.” The awards are administered by the University of Georgia's Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication." taken from The Peabody Awards homepage,, 11 October 2012.

Scope and Content Note

This collection consists of the paper documentation of the annual Peabody Awards from its inception in 1940 through the present. Primarily composed of the entry materials for thousands of radio and television shows to the awards, the collection also contains entry forms, digests and indexes of entries, elaborate containers that housed entries, program descriptions, Peabody award publications and brochures, business and office files, and correspondence.


The collection is arranged by record type into 9 series:

Series 1. Peabody Entries makes up the bulk of the collection and is split into 4 subseries: 1.1 Radio Entries, 1.2 Radio Entry Exhibits, 1.3 Television Entries, and 1.4 Television Entry Exhibits. Series 2. Original Entry Forms; Series 3. Entry Digests and Indexes; Series 4. Entry Containers; Series 5. Program Descriptions and Guides; Series 6. Publications, brochures, awards ceremony materials; Series 7. Business and Office Files; and Series 8. Correspondence.

Index Terms

Mass media--Ratings and rankings--United States.
Peabody, George Foster, 1852-1938
Radio broadcasters--United States
Radio broadcasting--Awards--United States.
Radio programs--United States
Television broadcasting--Awards--United States.
University of Georgia.
Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation note

George Foster Peabody Awards records, ms 3000, Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Georgia Libraries.

Related Material

The Peabody Awards Media Collection consists of over 90,000 titles, with radio programs dating from 1940 and television from 1948. There are radio transcription discs, audiotape, audiocassettes, 16mm kinescopes and prints, 2" videoreels, videocassettes, and websites. Many of the programs in the collection may be the only surviving copies of the work, especially in the case of local radio and television broadcasting. These are all original archival materials. Reference, or "user" copies, are available for much of the collection for use in the University of Georgia Libraries Media Department or at the Special Collections Library.

Series Descriptions and Folder Listing


1. Peabody Entries

1.1 Radio Entries, 1940-2006

278Radio: NWR 81002-81035; ENR 81001-81028; EDR 81001-81015; CYR 81001-81003; DCR 81001-81020, 1981
279Radio: DCR 81021-81060; PSR 81001-81045; INR 81001-81004, 1981
283Radio: NWR 82001-82053; ENR 82001-82036; CYR 82001-82004; EDR 82001-82016; DCR 82001-82015, 1982