Confederate monuments in Georgia photograph collection

Confederate monuments in Georgia photograph collection

Descriptive Summary

Repository: Hargrett Library
Creator: Unknown
Title: Confederate monuments in Georgia photograph collection
Dates: 1970-1979
Quantity: 0.75 Linear feet 1 document box, 1 half box
Coll. Number: ms2273

Biographical/Historical Note

The historian Gaines M. Foster has identified ninety-four Confederate monuments that were erected in the South by 1885 (a further 406 were added by 1912). Some of the oldest of these monuments are in Georgia, such as the pillar in downtown Athens, which was erected in 1872. For more information see the article Confederate Monuments in the New Georgia Encyclopedia.

Scope and Content Note

The collection consists of photographs of Confederate monuments located throughout Georgia. There is also a copy of the book, Confederate Monuments in Georgia, located in Box 1 of the collection.

Index Terms

Soldiers' monuments--Southern States.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation note

Confederate monuments in Georgia photograph collection, ms2273, Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.

Series Descriptions and Folder Listing

11Abbeville-Wilcox County
2Americus-Sumter County
3Albany-Dougherty County
4Andersonville-Sumter County
5Athens-Clark County
6Atlanta-Fulton County
6Oakland Cemetery
7Atlanta-Fulton County
8Augusta-Richmond County
9Bainbridge-Decatur County
10Barnesville-Lamar County
11Blakely-Early County
12Brunswick-Glenn County
13Buena Vista-Marion County
14Butler-Taylor County
15Calhoun-Gordon County
16Canton-Cherokee County
18Cartersville-Bartow County
19Carrollton-Carroll County
20Cassville-Bartow County
21Cedartown-Polk County
23Cochran-Polaski County
24Columbus-Muscogee County
25Conyers-Rockdale County
26Cordele-Crisp County
27Covington-Newton County
28Crawfordville-Talliferro County
29Cuthbert-Randolph County
30Decatur-Dekalb County
31Dalton-Whitefield County
32Douglas-Coffee County
33Douglasville-Douglas County
34Dublin-Laurens County
35Eatonton-Putnam County
36Eastman-Dodge County
37Elberton-Elbert County
38Ellaville-Sibley County
39Fairburn-Fulton County
40Fayetteville-Fayette County
41Forsyth-Monroe County
42Ft. Gaines-Clay County
43Gainesville-Hall County
44Greensboro-Greene County
45Griffin-Spalding County
46Hamilton-Harris County
47Hartwell-Hart County
48Hawkinsville-Pulaski County
49Hinesville-Liberty County
50Irwinville-Irwin County
51Jackson-Butts County
52Jefferson-Jackson County
53Jeffersonville-Twiggs County
54Jonesboro-Clayton County
55Kennesaw Park
56Layfayette-Walter County
57LaGrange-Troup County
58Lexington-Oglethorpe County
59Lincolnton-Lincoln County
60Lumpkin-Stewart County
61McDonough-Henry County
62Macon-Bibb County
63Madison-Morgan County
64Marietta-Cobb County
65Millidgeville-Baker County
66Millen-Jenkins County
68Monroe-Walton County
69Montezuma-Macon County
70Moultrie-Colquitt County
71Monticello-Jasper County
72Newnon-Coweta County
73Ocilla-Irwin County
74Oglethorpe-Macon County
21Oxford-Newton County
2Palmetto-Fulton County
3Perry-Houston County
4Pine Mountain-Cobb County
5Quitman-Brooks County
6Resaca-Gordon County
7Rome-Floyd County
8Sandersville-Washington County
9Savannah-Chatham County
10Sparta-Hancock County
11Springfield-Effingham County
12Statesboro-Bulloch County
13Stone-Mountain-DeKalb County
14Sylvania-Screven County
15Talbotton-Talbot County
16Tenniville-Washington County
17Thomaston-Upson County
18Thomson-McDuffie County
19Thomasville-Thomas County
20Tifton-Tift County
21Toccoa-Stevens County
22Union Park-Greene County
23Valdosta-Lowndes County
24Vienna-Dooley County
25Warrenton-Warren County
26Washington-Wilkes County
27Watkinsville-Oconee County
28Waycross-Ware County
29Waynesboro-Burke County
30West Point
31Winder-Barrow County