|Title:||Architectural differences between Taylor Grady House and Treanor House|
|Quantity:||0.1 Linear feet (1 oversized folder B)|
|Abstract:||The collection consists of architectural designs done for Prof. John Linley's LAR 322 class which reflect the architectural differences between Taylor Grady House and Treanor House.|
On the west side of Athens, Robert Taylor built a Greek revival-style house with thirteen columns, one for each of the original thirteen colonies. Now known as the Taylor-Grady House, it was the boyhood home of "New South" spokesman Henry W. Grady and is designated a National Historic Landmark. New Georgia Encyclopedia. http://www.georgiaencyclopedia.org/nge/Article.jsp?id=h-2210 Retrieved 4/13/2009.
The Cobb-Treanor House, also known as the John A. Cobb House and as the Brittain Place, is located at 1234 South Lumpkin Street (Tax Parcel No. 17-3-A2-A-014). This two-story frame building is essentially a Greek Revival plantation house featuring a central hall plan with a four-over-four room arrangement. The detailing and ornamentation of the main body of the Cobb-Treanor house are typical of the Greek Revival style. The Gothic Revival portico, however, reflects the eclectic revivalistic movement in mid-nineteenth century architecture. The attenuated columns are quatrefoil in section and are apparently unique to the Athens-Lexington area. These columns combine with brackets to form shallow, elliptical pseudo-arches and divide the portico into seven bays, the central being approximately twice the width of the three bays on either side. The circular gravel driveway, unpaved but curbed, and a historic side-yard cottage, also survive. The original owner was a wealthy planter and former legislator, John Addison Cobb. The actual date of construction remains unknown because he neglected to record his deeds, but census records lend credence to the belief that the house was given in 1841 as a wedding gift to his daughter, Laura Cobb Rutherford. The Cobb-Treanor house is the birthplace of her daughter, Mildred Lewis Rutherford, who later gained local prominence as headmistress of the Lucy Cobb Institute and Historian General of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. In 1857 Henry L. Brittain purchased the 25-acre site and the house, which remained in family hands until 1905. Ownership changed often until 1912, when Alexander Woodson Ashford, a wealthy Watkinsville merchant, acquired the building for use as a private dormitory for his four sons attending the University of Georgia. After Kate McKinley Treanor purchased the place in 1929, it became home to her descendants through the 1980s. In 1990, the University of Georgia rehabilitated the building to house the Institute of Community and Area Development (ICAD). The Cobb-Treanor House was documented by the Historic American Buildings Survey (GA-1166) and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places (May 8, 1979). Carl Vinson Institute of Government website. http://www.cviog.uga.edu/Projects/athens/TREANOR.htm Retrieved 4/16/2009.
Inspired by his father's construction business in Anderson, South Carolina, John W. Linley (1916-1996) graduated from Clemson College in 1938 with a B.S. in Architecture and went on to earn his M.F.A. in Architecture from Princeton University in 1945. Before becoming a professor for the University of Georgia's School of Environmental Design in 1963, he practiced professionally for many years by designing residences and office buildings. The many testaments to Linley's influence as an educator include recognition for outstanding teaching from both the University of Georgia and the School of Environmental Design and the Distinguished Faculty Award in recognition of outstanding service and contribution to the School of Environmental Design. Among his contributions to the University and Athens community, Linley wrote two books which are invaluable to preservationists, both professionals and laymen: Architecture of Middle Georgia, The Oconee Area (1972) and The Georgia Catalog, Historic American Buildings Survey, A Guide to Georgia Architecture (1982). In appreciation for the Georgia Catalog, he received an award from the Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation and a Presidential Citation from the Georgia Association American Institute of Architects. During the seventies, Linley was especially active in local preservation and served on the Board of Trustees for the Joseph Henry Lumpkin Foundation, the Board of Directors for the Athens-Clarke Heritage Foundation, and the Board of Directors for the Athens Historical Society, for which he also acted as Vice-President. He played an integral role in the formation of the Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation, which now boasts the largest membership of any non-profit preservation organization in the United States. Linley is perhaps best remembered in Athens for his efforts to repopulate in-town neighborhoods and restore safety and confidence in non-suburban lifestyles. Always extolling the necessity of pedestrian involvement in a beautiful and vibrant downtown, his fiery and eloquent letters to the editors of local newspapers were common. He was a tireless advocate for quality urban space and never shied away from being the sole voice for both urban revitalization and open space protection. After a long and industrious career with the University, Linley retired in 1986, but remained active in the Athens community until his death. Digital Library of Georgia. http://dbs.galib.uga.edu/cgi-bin/ultimate.cgi?dbs=larc&ini=larc_galileo.ini&userid=galileo&serverno=8&instcode=uga2 Retrieved 4/16/2009.
Architectural differences between Taylor Grady House and Treanor House, 1981. MS 2042. Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.
This material is located in the oversize drawer.