Yellow River Baptist Association minutes

Yellow River Baptist Association minutes

Descriptive Summary

Repository: Hargrett Manuscripts
Creator: Yellow River Baptist Association (Ga.).
Title: Yellow River Baptist Association minutes
Dates: 1824-1965
Quantity: 1.2 Linear feet (3 volumes in 1 oversized box)
Abstract:The collection consists of minutes of the Yellow River Baptist Association from 1824-1965. The organizing minutes of 1824 include the by-laws, purpose of the organization, and a list of original members. Subsequent minutes document the topics discussed and decisions made by the Association and include a list of member churches and their respective ministers; and for each church the number of members baptized, received by letter, excommunicated, dismissed, or deceased within each year. The minutes also include circular letters of spiritual guidance which were distributed to member churches.
Coll. Number: ms2027
Location: 32108050766222

Biographical/Historical Note

The Yellow River Baptist Association was made up of churches from Newton, Henry, Rockdale, Gwinnett, DeKalb, Fulton, and Clayton counties in Georgia. The Association was established on September 18, 1824 at Harris Spring in Newton County, Georgia.

Index Terms

Baptist associations--Georgia.
Church records and registers--Georgia.
Clayton County (Ga.)
DeKalb County (Ga.)
Fulton County (Ga.)
Gwinnett County (Ga.)
Henry County (Ga.)
Rockdale County (Ga.)
Walton County (Ga.)

General Notes

Cataloged as part of the Georgia Archives and Manuscripts Automated Access Project: A Special Collections Gateway Program of the University Center in Georgia.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Yellow River Baptist Association (Ga.) minutes. Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Georgia Libraries.