Eighteenth Century Music Manuscripts

Eighteenth Century Music Manuscripts

Descriptive Summary

Repository: Hargrett Manuscripts
Creator: Grickn, John Joseph
Title: Eighteenth Century Music Manuscripts
Dates: 1700s
Quantity: 0.1 Linear feet (3 folders housed with minor collections MS 1188 and MS 1189)
Coll. Number: ms1188(m)

Biographical/Historical Note

Born in Rothenburg some two years before Mozart, Hoffmeister went to Vienna when he was just 14 to study law. However, he soon devoted himself entirely to music and, by 1785 had, in addition to producing successful compositions, set up a music publishing business. Hoffmeister's business acumen, however, did not equal his compositional ability, and his publishing activities were financially precarious over the next few years. In 1799 Hoffmeister befriended the organist Ambrosiuis Kuhnel in Leipzig and founded the "Bureau de Musique", which later became the well known firm of CF Peters - still active today. The Bureau published collections of Haydn's string quartets and Mozart's quartets and quintets and was an early champion of J.S. Bach's keyboard works. They also succeeded in acquiring Beethoven's First Symphony and Second Piano Concerto. In 1805, Hoffmeister sold out to Kuhnel, and the Viennese publishers (run by his wife) the next year, and until his death in 1812 he devoted himself to composition. Franz Anton Hoffmeister - Classical Composers Database http://www.classical-composers.org (Retrieved August 9, 2010)

Son of the violinist and composer Leopold Mozart (1719-87), he was born the year of the publication of Leopold's best-selling treatise on violin playing. He and his older sister, Maria Anna (1751-1829), were prodigies; at age five he began to compose and gave his first public performance. From 1763 Leopold toured throughout Europe with his children, showing off the "miracle that God allowed to be born in Salzburg." The first round of touring (1763-69) took them as far as France and England, where Wolfgang met Johann Christian Bach and wrote his first symphonies (1764). Tours of Italy followed (1769-73); there he first saw the string quartets of Joseph Haydn and wrote his own first Italian opera. In 1775-77 he composed his violin concertos and his first piano sonatas. His mother died in 1778. He returned to Salzburg as cathedral organist and in 1781 wrote his opera seria Idomeneo. Chafing under the archbishop's rule, he was released from his position in 1781; he moved in with his friends the Weber family and began his independent career in Vienna. He married Constanze Weber, gave piano lessons, and wrote The Abduction from the Seraglio (1782) and many of his great piano concertos. The later 1780s were the height of his success, with the string quartets dedicated to Haydn (who called Mozart the greatest living composer), the three great operas on Lorenzo Da Ponte's librettos -The Marriage of Figaro (1786), Don Giovanni (1787), and Così fan tutte (1790) - and his superb late symphonies. In his last year he composed the opera The Magic Flute and his great Requiem (left unfinished). Despite his success, he always lacked money (possibly because of gambling debts and a fondness for fine clothes) and had to borrow heavily from friends. His death at age 35 may have resulted from a number of illnesses; among those that have been suggested are miliary fever, rheumatic fever, and Schönlein-Henoch syndrome. No other composer left such an extraordinary legacy in so short a lifetime. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Encyclopedia Britannica Online http://www.britannica.com (Retrieved August 9, 2010)

Paul Wranitzky (Pavel Vranicky�) was born on Dec. 30, 1756, at Nova Rise in western Moravia. A career in clergy seemed to be his destiny after attending the Premonstrant monastery's school at his birthplace, the Jesuit grammar school at Jihlava and studies of theology at Olomouc and Vienna. In 1776 he entered the theological seminary in Vienna, where he was music master, and studied composition with Josef Haydn and the so-called "Swedish Mozart" Josef Martin Kraus. Around 1785 he became music director of count Johann Nepomuk Esterha�zy de Galantha (a side line of the Esterhazys, not identical to the main line at Eisenstadt/Kismarton, Haydn's employers). From 1790 on he conducted as an orchestra director the excellent ensembles of the old court theatre and the Kärtnertor theatre. Here the best professional musicians were available for his symphonies and stage works. His fantasy opera "Oberon - the fairy king" of 1789 was one of the favourite works in this genre and inspired Schikaneder to the "Magic Flute". Goethe adressed to him the proposed composition of a second part of the "Magic Flute". Wranitzky's music is original with a high musical and compositional standard. His musical idiom is characteristic for Viennese classicism, in some of his symphonies he is in closer touch with the politic events of his time without slipping into superficial painting. (Besides that "absolute music" is a late 19th century's intellectual chimera). His orchestration is colourful by knowing how to emphasize the effect of the different instruments. His contemporaries and his audience held his music in high esteem. The articles published only fifty years after his death are set in the tone of Teutonic titan-cult and German scholarship ("Wranitzky has to offer only pumpernickel from his compositions in the higher style", the musicologist Riehl wrote in 1861 in his "musical character heads") and are therefore unfounded by a biased negative prejudice.

Scope and Content Note

The collection consists of three complete sets of manuscript music, formerly in the collection of Rudolf Kratina. Included in this collection are contemporary copies of works by Hoffmeister, Mozart, and Wranizky. All of these works bear the signature of John Joseph Grickn. Titles of the works are: Hoffmeister, Anton. 6 Quartetten für Zwey Violinen, Alto & Violoncello concertantes; Mozart, W. A. III Quartetten für Zwey Violinen, Alt Viola & Violoncello. Opera 65; Wranizky, Paul. III Quartetten für Zwey Violinen, Alto & Violoncello... der frau Furstinn Bathyani gebohrne Gräfinn von Pergen. Each work consists of all four parts in excellent condition.

Index Terms

Hoffmeister, Franz Anton, 1754-1812
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791
Music--18th century.
Violin music.
Wranitzky, Paul, 1756-1808

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Eighteenth Century Music Manuscripts, MS 1188. Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.

Series Descriptions and Folder Listing

11-3Sheet Music