|Title:||John Linley papers|
|Quantity:||2.4 Linear feet (6 document boxes)|
Inspired by his father's construction business in Anderson, South Carolina, John W. Linley (1916-1996) graduated from Clemson College in 1938 with a B.S. in Architecture and went on to earn his M.F.A. in Architecture from Princeton University in 1945. Before becoming a professor for the University of Georgia's School of Environmental Design in 1963, he practiced professionally for many years by designing residences and office buildings. The many testaments to Linley's influence as an educator include recognition for outstanding teaching from both the University of Georgia and the School of Environmental Design and the Distinguished Faculty Award in recognition of outstanding service and contribution to the School of Environmental Design.
Among his contributions to the University and Athens community, Linley wrote two books which are invaluable to preservationists, both professionals and laymen: Architecture of Middle Georgia, The Oconee Area (1972) and The Georgia Catalog, Historic American Buildings Survey, A Guide to Georgia Architecture (1982). In appreciation for the Georgia Catalog, he received an award from the Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation and a Presidential Citation from the Georgia Association American Institute of Architects. During the seventies, Linley was especially active in local preservation and served on the Board of Trustees for the Joseph Henry Lumpkin Foundation, the Board of Directors for the Athens-Clarke Heritage Foundation, and the Board of Directors for the Athens Historical Society, for which he also acted as Vice-President. He played an integral role in the formation of the Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation, which now boasts the largest membership of any non-profit preservation organization in the United States.
Linley is perhaps best remembered in Athens for his efforts to repopulate in-town neighborhoods and restore safety and confidence in non-suburban lifestyles. Always extolling the necessity of pedestrian involvement in a beautiful and vibrant downtown, his fiery and eloquent letters to the editors of local newspapers were common. He was a tireless advocate for quality urban space and never shied away from being the sole voice for both urban revitalization and open space protection. After a long and industrious career with the University, Linley retired in 1986, but remained active in the Athens community until his death.
The collection consists of background material for Linley's Architecture of Middle Georgia: The Oconee Area (Athens : Univerity of Georgia Press, 1972), house survey reports, manuscript notes, various states of typescript and publisher's proofs, correspondence, press releases, and advertising material giving great insight into the development of an important book on Georgia architecture. Architecture in middle Georgia has become a classic work of detailed scholarship and research in both the architectural features of middle Georgia and the sociological and historical implications as well. From 1807 to 1869 Milledgeville was the capital of Georgia, and many superb examples of antebellum architecture are still to be found there in Baldwin County and in the surrounding counties of the Oconee area - Hancock, Jasper, Johnson, Putnam, Washington, and Wilkinson.
This collection is unarranged but is available for research.
John Linley papers, MS 1110. Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.