Annual Peabody Awards programs

Annual Peabody Awards programs

Descriptive Summary

Repository: University of Georgia Archives
Creator: University of Georgia. School of Journalism.
Title: Annual Peabody Awards programs
Dates: 1990-2017
Quantity: 0.5 Linear feet (1 box)
Coll. Number: UA09-043

Biographical/Historical Note

The George Foster Peabody Awards recognizes distinguished and meritorious public service by radio and television stations, networks, producing organizations and and individuals. Reflecting excellence in quality rather than popularity or commercial success, the Peabody is awarded to about 25-35 winners annually from more than 1000 entries.

In 1939, the National Association of Broadcasters formed a committee to recognize outstanding achievement in radio broadcasting. Committee member Lambdin Kay, manager of WSB in Atlanta, thought the award would be more credible if it was academically sanctioned and independently administered. He approached John E. Drewry of the University of Georgia's Henry W. Grady School of Journalism, who enthusiastically endorsed the idea. The Peabody Award was established in 1940 with the school as its permanent home.

George Foster Peabody, born in 1852 in Columbus, Georgia, moved with his family to New York after the Civil War. Largely self-educated, Peabody became a successful banker and supporter of humanitarian causes, especially education. Among other things, he helped finance a library, a forestry school, and a classroom building at the University of Georgia and was the school's first non-Georgia-resident trustee. In appreciation, the University awarded him an honorary degree and named the new broadcasting award for him.

Scope and Content Note

This collection consists of programs from the annual George Foster Peabody Awards dating back to 1990.


The collection is arranged in chronological order.

Index Terms

Broadcasting--Awards--United States.
Peabody Awards.
Peabody, George Foster, 1852-1938
Programs (documents)
Universities and colleges--Georgia--Athens.
Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection.

General Notes

RG 2-18

Administrative Information

Preferred citation note

Annual Peabody Award programs, UA09-043, University Archives, Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.

Related Material

Related collections in this repository: Georgia Foster Peabody Awards Media Collection and George Foster Peabody Awards records, ms3000.

Series Descriptions and Folder Listing

11Peabody Awards program, 1990
2Peabody Awards program 53rd annual (1994) and 55th annual (1996), 1994, 1996
3Peabody Awards program 65th annual (1997) and 58th annual (1999), 1997, 1999
4Peabody Awards program 61st annual, 2002
5Peabody Awards program 62nd annual (2003) and 63rd annual (2004), 2003, 2004
6Peabody Awards program 64th annual (2005) and 65th annual (2006), 2005, 2006
7Peabody Awards program 66th annual (2007)and 67th annual (2008), 2007, 2008
8Peabody Awards program 68th annual, 2009
9Peabody Awards program 72nd annual and 1 luncheon ticket, 2013
10Peabody Awards program 73rd and 2 luncheon tickets, 2014
11Peabody Awards program and tickets 74th annual, 2015
12Peabody Awards program 75th annual, 2016
13Peabody Awards program 76th annual, 2017