Peabody Awards 50th anniversary poster

Peabody Awards 50th anniversary poster

Descriptive Summary

Repository: University of Georgia Archives
Creator: Henry W. Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication.
Title: Peabody Awards 50th anniversary poster
Dates: 1990
Quantity: 2.0 Linear feet (1 box)
Coll. Number: UA0012

Biographical/Historical Note

Among prizes for electronic media – radio awards, television awards, interactive and new media awards – THE GEORGE FOSTER PEABODY AWARDS are considered the most prestigious. Founded in 1940, the Peabody is the also the oldest electronic media award in the world, recognizing excellence, distinguished achievement, and meritorious public service. The first radio awards were presented in 1941, for work completed in 1940. The first television awards were presented in 1948, the first cable television awards in 1981, and the first web site awards in 2003. Honoring content from large broadcast networks to tiny online outlets, from popular entertainment programs to independently produced documentaries, and all types in between, the Peabody Awards seek out “excellence on its own terms.” The awards are administered by the University of Georgia's Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication.

For additional information see,

Scope and Content Note

One poster for the 50th anniversary of the George Foster Peabody Awards.

Index Terms

Broadcasting--Awards--United States.
Peabody Awards.
Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection.

General Notes

RG2-18 (Journalism)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation note

Peabody Awards 50th anniversary poster, UA0012, Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.

Series Descriptions and Folder Listing

150th Anniversary Poster, 1990